CS373 Spring 2021: Week 7

Reagan Lasswell
2 min readMar 8, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

I spent my time working on designing my teams API on Postman. It was pretty interesting how it all came together in the end. I also spent some time researching some of the companies coming to the CS career fair this coming week. There are a lot of interesting people coming and I hope to join as many sessions as I can.

What’s in your way?

I spent most of my time this past week on the phase 1 assignment and my internship. I have to do some catching up in my other classes which will impede some of my focus on the beginning of phase 2.

What will you do next week?

I need to start looking over the requirements for the next phase and get myself prepared. I hope to have a couple meetings with my team to go over our next steps and evaluate our course of action.

If you read it, what did you think of the Open-Closed Principle?

I enjoy the topic of Object Oriented Design because there are so many different possibilities with it. Though, I does involve a great deal of planning and practice in order to demonstrate good architecture and interconnections.

What was your experience of iterators and reduce2?

I did not know of the functionality python could do with iterators until lecture. It created a large amount of neat possibilities for upcoming projects. Reduce2 is a prime example of one of these possibilities. It took my group a second to re-work out the problem with the knowledge of the new tools to use, but once we included them, it was smooth sailing.

What made you happy this week?

I learned some new things about AWS and front-end work from phase 1 of our project which opened up my eyes on what is actually happening with web applications. Also, I put together a new recipe/meal for myself that has avocado, chicken, and hash browns.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip-of-the-week is to get a planner. Organization and planning are some keys to success. Plenty of problems of forgetfulness and unpreparedness usually disappear when planners are involved. It is just a safer way to live when events, assignments, and other products of day to day life are written out in a planner.

--

--